IPA logo crest color

International Police Association

Belgian Section

Driekleur België

Select your language


 vlag belgie

The Kingdom of Belgium is a Western European country situated on the North Sea, bordering the Netherlands, Germany, Luxembourg and France. The country is 30,528 square kilometers and has a population of just over 11 million inhabitants. The capital of Belgium is Brussels and is also the administrative center of the European Union.
The country has three official languages: approximately sixty percent of the population speaks Dutch, forty percent speak French, and less than one percent speak German. Cultural and linguistic diversity of the country led by a succession of state reforms to a complex political system, which basically land-based powers - such as the economy, employment and public works - are the regions (Flanders, Wallonia and Brussels) and personal matters - such as education, culture and welfare - to the Communities (Flemish, French and German), with an overarching federal government for the whole territory, jurisdiction include defense, justice and social security.
Belgium became independent from the United Kingdom of the Netherlands after the Belgian Revolution in 1830
We use cookies

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.